This I Believe Part 5, The Finale


EDIT:  Read part 1, part 2, part 3, and part 4 for background.

I believe in reality.  I believe in the things we can touch, taste, hear, smell and see.  I believe in the things we can find out with a micrometer, a microscope, a telescope, a telephone.  I believe that all of human kind, past and present, has been stuck on one tiny little rock orbiting around an average-smallish star, circling a giant spiral barred-galaxy, hurtling through space along with billions of other galaxies.  I believe that this one life we live is all we get, so I want to try to get as much out of it as I can before I have to go to sleep for that last time. 

I love my wife, and I love my family.  And I know they love me back, because they show it.  They call me, they write me, they leave me messages, they hug and kiss me when they see me, and they’re happy to see me when I’ve been away. 

I believe I have a really good life.  And I realize that many others do not have such a good life.  I believe I have a moral obligation to help those people.  Not an obligation imposed from outside, not an obligation I want to fulfill so I get rewarded at some later date, but an obligation for all the help I’ve been given, before and since my birth. 

I believe I am fallible.  I make mistakes.  I am often wrong.  But I try to correct those mistakes or wrong ideas when they are pointed out to me.    I welcome criticism (not something I have always done), seeing it as a chance to improve myself.  I want to talk with people.  I have a hard time breaking the ice, but I crave more give-and-take of ideas.  I want to expose myself to new ideas, and expose other to ideas I’ve had. 

I believe in the truth.  I find honesty in all things to be preferable to happy lies.  And if I find a truth that conflicts with one of my dearly held beliefs, the belief must go, for reality must always prevail.

Thank you for reading, and please help me live up to my ideals.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “This I Believe Part 5, The Finale

  1. Wow, this is an incredible post. It’s not often that you’re willing to open yourself up like this, and I like it. I love you!

  2. very nicely said matt, this really sums you up well. that post probably would have taken me 2 weeks to write – not many people can dig that deep into themselves and be so descriptive.

  3. Thanks both of you, I appreaciate your support 🙂

  4. Pingback: A few links | Grasping Blindly in the Dark

Leave a Reply

